Matthew Morrison Talks to Pop on the Top

Glee just wouldn’t be the same without Mr. Schuester. Will Schuester was the protagonist that we wanted to protect from his psycho wife during season 1; he was the one Rachel Berry, played by Lea Michele, was in love with, and he’s the man who may deflower Emma Pilsbury!

For the most part, Matthew Morrison keeps himself out of the tabloids. Luckily I was at the same star-studded party with Mr. Morrison the other weekend and I got some one-on-one time with Glee’s squeaky clean teacher! Now if Matt was a jerk, I wouldn’t hesitate to say so (stay tuned for what I say about Lea Michele in a few weeks when I post my interview w/ her), but I was impressed by him.

POTP: What’s going on with your character this season?

Matthew: Well I think Will and Emma fans are gonna be so happy. There’s so much in store for Will and Emma fans. Will’s gonna pop the question. It’s very exciting to have some great adult storylines again.

POTP: But you guys are gonna wait until you get married for… ya know?

Matthew: I don’t know! I haven’t seen the scripts where we do the deed yet, but we’ll see. I don’t know.

POTP: I remember you did an interview where you said there’ll probably be a lot of sanitizer when that goes on [laughs].

Matthew: Yeah [laughs]. There will be a lot of Purell involed!

POTP: Are you going to be doing any more singing this season, and is there an artist that you would love to cover?

Matthew: I am going to be singing and I am going to be doing an artist that I would love to cover, and that artist is Elvis Presley.

POTP: Nice! Your voice would be perfect for that.

Matthew: Ya. I think it would be good, well suited.

POTP: I know you recorded an album and released that. Have Glee fans supported that effort?

Matthew: I did a big solo tour this summer. It was great. It was so much fun. It was so different, performing live. I miss it. That’s my roots, Broadway and just being on stage so for me it was like oxygen. I need to do that.

POTP: Do you see yourself doing another album?

Matthew: Yes I do.

POTP: Are you a part of the long schedules on the set? I know you guys have long days. Do you have a lighter schedule because you’re teaching and not necessarily dancing?

Matthew: I kind of have it more so in some cases because I’m in every scene with the kids and every scene with the adults as well. I’m in both worlds so I can’t really get out of it.

POTP: How do you keep your energy up?

Matthew: Headstands.

POTP: Are you serious [laughs]?

Matthew: I’m serious. If I’m feeling tired of something, I’ll sit in my trailer and do a headstand and it rushes the blood to my head and it just kind of wakes me up.

POTP: Okay. How many of those? One a day?

Matthew: Just one when I’m tired, I do a headstand.

POTP: So I should do that instead of my energy shot or cup of coffee.

** Matthew suddenly gets a very concerned look across his face!

Matthew: Energy shots, that’s so bad for you!

POTP: I’ve heard that.

Matthew: Ya, don’t do those.

POTP: I live on those.

Matthew: THAT’S SO BAD!

POTP: Why? Is it all that caffeine?

Matthew: Ya. It’s just messing with your system. Do a headstand, come on!

POTP: What if I fall on my face?

Matthew: You gotta do it against the wall so you don’t fall.

POTP: Okay. so on the set, is there any rivalry on the show with any of the castmates?

Matthew: I love that question! Even if there was, I’m not going to say there is, but there isn’t.

POTP: I guess it was today or yesterday they announced that Lea isn’t going to go away for a spinoff. How do you feel about that? Do you feel that would be a good idea for certain characters to graduate and be done with the show?

Matthew: I was happy to hear that they’re going to graduate but they’re still going to be on the show in some capacity because I really want the people who started this show to be the people to end this show.

POTP: I couldn’t imagine the show without those characters!

Matthew: I couldn’t either, but it’s the evolution of a show. Who knows what will happen.

PART 2

Although Matthew Morrison is a lead character on one of the most popular shows on TV, he keeps himself out of the tabloids. With the exception of a story that ran about Matthew going out on a date with Cameron Diaz, we haven’t heard any stories about Matt’s romantic relationships. Does he have a girlfriend? Is he single? Of course I had to ask! If you’d like to catch up with us, here’s Part 1 of Poponthepop.com’s exclusive interview with Matthew Morrison where he talks about what artist he’s going to cover next, Glee casting rumors, and much more!

POTP: So Ricky Martin and Nene Leakes [are guest starring this season]. Is Nene still on the show?

Matthew: Yes, she’s doing this episode we’re doing right now. I haven’t met her yet. I haven’t done any scenes with her. I actually didn’t know who she was.

POTP: You’re not a Real Housewives fan [laughs]?

Matthew: Come on [laughs]! I don’t watch reality shows. I never watch TV unless it’s sports.

POTP: What sports?

Matthew: Right now I’m into the playoffs, football. Baseball, soccer, any sport, ESPN.

POTP: And your hair. Is that a natural curl? You know Sue Sylvester’s always talking about your hair.

Matthew: I actually tried to straighten it out a little bit today, but ya, it’s all natural.

POTP: And are you single?

Matthew: I am right now.

POTP: But you’re, like, always single, as far as I know. Why is that?

Matthew: It could be the best kept secret in Hollywood that I’m courting away my girlfriend.

POTP: Are there phantom girlfriends that nobody can know about [laughs]?

Matthew: I definitely have a girlfriend.

POTP: Is she an actress?

Matthew: No she’s not.

POTP: And you don’t take her on red carpets? Oh no!

Matthew: This is work, ya know. I’m going to be doing all these interviews with people and she’s just going to be standing here.

POTP: How long have you been with her?

Matthew: It’s been a while.

POTP: At least a year?

Matthew: Yes.

POTP: So you’re going to get married next year [laughs]?

Matthew: Haha [laughs].

POTP: I’m kidding. Thank you!

Matthew:Thank you. It was so nice to finally meet you!

Source

Posted on January 31, 2012, in All Posts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

